Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I might have missed Le Chandeleur, but who can deny that the sublime French crêpe is worthy of celebration on any day? In France, Le Chandeleur, held February 2, is the Catholic holiday of Candlemas, but also has become known as “crêpe day” or jour des crêpes. Over the centuries, the practice of using up surplus flour to make crêpes took root as a way to celebrate prosperity in the coming year and has evolved into a beloved tradition in French households.

Nutella crepes

Nutella crêpes at Longchamp Racecourse in Paris

I have many fond memories of the crêpes I have consumed during my trips to Paris (it spoils you for eating them anywhere else, really). Where fillings are concerned, I’m a fan of keeping it simple and usually just go with Nutella on the sweet side or ham and cheese on the savory for quick eats on the go or at the racetrack.

Crepes and champagne at Longchamp

This is how you do racetrack food: Crêpes and champagne at Longchamp

Crepe stand outside the Palais de Chaillot

This crêpe stand in front of the Palais de Chaillot saved my life one afternoon. I was starving and a ham and cheese crêpe hit the spot as I wandered  (i.e., got lost) around Passy.

And when my friend A and I were in need of warm, comfort food on a chilly Sunday evening, the Crêperie des Canettes, located on rue des Canettes just off Place St-Sulpice in the 6th arrondissement, provided the perfect remedy. We had to wait a bit for them to open, but it was worth it! A nice, hot savory crêpe and a cup of tea definitely hit the spot.

La Creperie des Canettes

La crêperie des Canettes on rue des Canettes in St-Germain-des-Prés

The "Sicile" crepe at la creperie des Canettes

The “Sicile” crepe at la crêperie des Canettes. It came with ham, cheese, tomatoes, onions, mushrooms, olives, and basil. Très bon!

Photos by Judy L. Marchman