Tags

, , , , ,

The First Saturday in May is an official holiday in my house. It’s the traditional date of the Kentucky Derby, the most famous horse race in America and, arguably, in the world.

I was fortunate to attend the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs in Louisville several times as a member of the press, viewing the race from the press box and the rooftop. I participated in the tradition of the Walk Over in 1998. Nothing can prepare you for the cheers of the crowd as you take the trek from the backside over to the paddock where the horses will be saddled for the big race. Each horse has its own entourage, like any Hollywood star.

This year, I’ll be watching the race from the comfort of my living room—the view is definitely better, and more comfortable, that way. To get in the spirit of the day, though, it’s necessary to involved another Kentucky staple—bourbon. Usually, this would be in the form of mint juleps, but I’m not a fan of bourbon. Unless it’s used for baking, of course.

My copy of the book Racing to the Table and my Kentucky-made pie plate

My copy of Racing to the Table and my Kentucky-made pie plate

One of my favorite bourbon-related desserts is a chocolate bourbon pecan pie. I actually don’t care for pecan pie by itself, but add chocolate and bourbon—amazing. The recipe I like to use is from a book called Racing to the Table: A Culinary Tour of Sporting America, by Margaret Guthrie. I was fortunate enough to help edit this book when I worked at Eclipse Press, the former book division of Blood-Horse Publications in Lexington, Kentucky. Racing to the Table is now out of print, but if you can find a copy online, I recommend picking up a copy as it has regional recipes from all across the country to create the perfect tail-gating or “day at the races” party.

Measuring the bourbon and chocolate for the pie

Measuring the bourbon and chocolate

The chocolate bourbon pecan pie is very easy to put together. I use a refrigerated pie crust (the kind you roll out) to save some time. Before mixing anything, I chop the pecans in a mini food processor and then toast them on a baking sheet at 300 degrees Fahrenheit—checking them often so I don’t burn them, which has happened one too many times when I get distracted by other tasks. As the pecans cool, I melt the butter and measure out the bourbon (there are plenty of excellent Kentucky bourbons to choose from) and semi-sweet chocolate chips.

Adding the toasted pecans and chocolate chips

Adding the toasted pecans and chocolate chips

Next, I rolled the pie dough into my pie plate, which is another Kentucky touch. The pie plate was handmade in Berea, Kentucky, by Tater Knob Pottery, who I mentioned in my spoonbread post. Once the chopped pecans are cooled, I add them and then the chocolate chips to the bottom of the crust. After mixing the filling, I poured it on top of the pecans and chocolate and put it in the oven to bake. The recipe calls for 45 minutes, but you may need to adjust the baking time for your oven. Just keep an eye on it as the crust and top begin to brown.

Chocolate bourbon pecan pie

The finished product: Ready for the Kentucky Derby!

Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie
(from Racing to the Table)

Filling:
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup melted butter
1/4 cup Kentucky bourbon
1/4 cup cornstarch, sifted
1 cup toasted, chopped pecans
1 cup (6 oz) semi-sweet chocolate chips or chopped bittersweet chocolate

Crust:
1 cup unbleached flour
7 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 – 3 tablespoons ice water
Or use your favorite pie crust

The crust may be made in a food processor or by hand. If using a food processor, put the flour, butter, and salt in the bowl and process until it is the consistency of fine meal. Add 1 tablespoon of ice water at a time and process briefly until the dough starts to form a ball. Remove from the bowl, form into a ball, and roll out on a well-floured board or counter.

If doing by hand, put the flour, butter, and salt in a large mixing bowl and using a pastry blender or two knives, cut the butter into the flour until it resembles coarse meal. Proceed as above.

Roll out the pie crust and fit into a 9-inch pie plate. Crimp the edges.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. For the filling, beat the eggs and sugar in a medium-sized mixing bowl until think and lemon-colored. Stir in the melted butter, bourbon, and cornstarch. Sprinkle the chopped toasted pecans on the bottom of the pie crust, then sprinkle the chopped chocolate or chocolate chips on top of the pecans. Pour the egg mixture evenly over the nuts and chocolate. Put in the oven and bake for 45 minutes or until crust and top are well browned. Serves 8.

A slice of chocolate bourbon pecan pie

Just a small slice of chocolate-y, bourbon-y goodness

Photos by Judy L. Marchman